Now that I have published my new e-book “Are You Gonna Believe God or Your Lying Eyes?  The Smart Christian’s Guide to Walking by Faith” (Kindle version at www.amazon.com; Nook version at www.barnesandnoble.com; all other versions (ipad, PDF, rich text, etc.) at www.smashwords.com), I have entered the territory I find most uncomfortable…telling people.

Ernest Hemingway once said, “The writer must write what he has to say, not speak it.”  That has been my motto for years.  I consider myself a fairly decent writer.  I write pretty much every day.  I can write all day without even blinking.  But when it comes to conversing about my God-centered lifestyle brand, Christian Culture, Inc. and my ebook on faith, I sometimes get cold feet.

My husband got on my case about this recently.  We were on a plane to Charlotte, North Carolina.  I struck up a conversation with the woman beside me but never once mentioned my books or my business.  You have to tell people, my husband said to me after we left the plane.  The main reason I rarely mention Christian Culture or the new e-book is that I hate what marketing has become.  It seems everybody is selling something.  Their services.  A new weight loss product.  Real estate.  Bean pies.  Goodness!  This society is on advertising overload.  I roll my eyes when telemarketers call.  I cringe when salesmen show up at my door talking a mile a minute.  My first thought is, how can I get rid of this person without being rude?  I never want anyone to feel that way about me, like I am encroaching on their turf or wasting their time.  So I just don’t bring my business up.  That is what I told my husband but even while I was trying to justify why I never once told the lady about my e-book on faith, I knew I was copping out.  Bottom line is I missed an opportunity to tell someone about the positive work I am doing.

I belong to a meetup group called Maryland Small Business Marketing.  The group is made up of Maryland-based CEO’s looking to learn more about marketing in order to build their business.  At the beginning of each meeting, we go around the room and do a 30-second elevator pitch where we introduce ourselves and tell the group what we do.  Although I hate the spotlight and anything that appears as boastful behavior, I pitch my business in that setting as requested.  I am finding that it is very good practice.

I am also beginning to come to grips with the simple fact that in order for people to know about Christian Culture and my e-book on faith, I have to talk about them.  And it’s okay for me to do that as long as I am sensitive to and respectful of people’s precious time and personal space.  From another glass half full perspective, talking about my business and the new e-book helps me more clearly understand and communicate my message. I no longer stumble through conversations about what my business is, how it will help people, and who I am.  It was during one of these pitches that I first called myself a Christian author.  The words slipped out of my mouth before I knew it and when I heard them, the description clicked for me.  But the best part of all is that talking about my business and e-book is absolutely FREE.  Now, that is something my zero-dollar budget can afford!

This week’s takeaway:  It’s not a crime to talk about what I do; how else will people know?

 What is your business?  Are you talking about it?

